Tags

, , , , , , ,

Cypress trees are the sentinels of Tuscany.

???????????????????????????????

When I lived in Paris, I dabbled in some oil painting. I wasn’t very accomplished, but I did manage to have some of my paintings displayed in a small gallery in our arrondissement or neighborhood in the City of Light.

One of my canvasses showed some rolling hills awash with a sunset’s glow in oranges, yellows and reds.  Over in the right corner, stand the dark silhouettes of three cypress trees.  I don’t have the painting any more, a dear friend bought it from me after my vernissage or gallery opening.

In Paris at the art show opening at "Le Fee Main" Lulu was two and clearly not impressed!

In Paris at the art show opening at “Le Fee Main” Lulu was two and clearly not impressed!

I never dreamed, then, that one day soon, we would be leaving Paris and moving to the real source of inspiration for the painting – Tuscany, Italy itself.

I can see the painting now – every day – in real life here in Arezzo.    Those slim distinctive trees really do line the country streets and dot the hills in our adopted home.

Just outside Arezzo Centro Storico, cypresses flank the "Torre di Gnicche" - where a famous local bandit once hid out from authorities...

Just outside Arezzo Centro Storico, cypresses flank the “Torre di Gnicche” – where a famous local bandit once hid out from authorities…

I love them.  They’re comforting to me in their iconic way.

???????????????????????????????

And now that we are about to move to Ireland, I imagine them as silent watchmen – waiting for us to return.

Baci, Gina

Tuscany to Tipperary

Tuscany to Tipperary

P.S. What’s iconic about where you live?  How do you feel about them?

 

 

Copyright 2014 Gina London. All Rights Reserved.

 

