Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Lulu became a pompiere, or firefighter, for a day!  

But, it almost didn’t happen.

??????????

We recently took the short train trip from our home in Arezzo to the small village of Castiglion Fiorentino for the morning.  Nothing special planned.  Just thought we’d meander through its quaint cobbled streets.

??????????

Far across from the park we stumbled upon, I heard a voice on a loud-speaker.  The sound was over-modulated and, of course, in Italian, so I couldn’t understand.  Straining, I could see quite a few people milling about and what looked like an obstacle course.  “Clearly,”  I  thought, “it’s some sort of event  – a race or something.” But I don’t speak the language well and I didn’t know anything about it. I was nervous. Should I go check it out?

??????????

Of course. Why not?  I took Lulu’s hand in mine and we walked toward the people and those unintelligible sounds.

Indeed, there was an obstacle course. In fact, it was a mini-fire-fighting-training course – for kids!

??????????

Now, I had to be brave and go over to the sign-in table and inquire in my halting Italian, if it were possible for Lulu to try.

??????????

“Ma certo,” the kind lady sitting at the table responded to my blubbered request. “Of course.” At first, Lulu said she didn’t want to.  Perhaps it was a bit overwhelming for her too. Although she speaks the language, the scene was confusing and chaotic with all the helmeted grown-ups and kids running everywhere.  But after a little gentle urging from the volunteers, she did it! Complete with vest and red pompiere helmet!

??????????

Up the ladder…

??????????

…and down the pole!

??????????

Through the rings…

??????????

…another ladder…

??????????

…and even through the “tunnel!”

??????????

Across the smoking beam!

DSCN1907

Lulu even got to shoot a water hose

DSCN1908

…at some real flames!

??????????

But, I think our favorite part was when she had to put on a face mask and go inside a “burning” house to make a rescue!

??????????

Yey! Teddy was saved!

DSCN1912

After she completed the course, Lulu received this wonderful certificate – proving that she was a real “Vigile del Fuoco,” or fighter of fires! It’s now proudly on display in her bedroom and the memory of the day still brings a smile to both of our faces.

??????????

And if I had been too embarrassed to ask, or if Lulu had been too timid to try, none of it would’ve happened.

Till next time, here’s hoping you push past your fears and inhibitions and try something that ends up bringing you joy!  Have you done something like this? Tell me!

Baci, Gina

For more adventures with Lulu in Italy, please buy my new book, Because I’m Small Now and You Love Me – available worldwide on Amazon! 

