Tags

, , , , , , , ,

When you live overseas, gifts from family back home are like treasure.

Early this week, a treasure arrived as Gramma Sheila sent a beautiful lavender sparkly Rapunzel dress and golden braid wig to Lulu.  She immediately tried them on and loved them.  So did I.

For the first day.

DSCN1199

(Above is Lulu – aka Rapunzel – day one)

She traipsed around and acted dainty and sweet.  Making Scotty and me pretend to be Flynn and Mother Gothel – yes, I hate to admit that I’m rather good in the role Mother Gothel. “Mother knows best…”  (If you haven’t seen the movie, “Tangled,” you really should. It’s that cute.)  And Lulu was being pretty cute too.   The dress was a little loose around the shoulders, but we fixed that with a couple of safety pins.  The wig was a little big and wobbly held in place with only two small combs.  But I braided her hair around her crown and that seemed to do the trick.  Lulu even begged to sleep in her costume that night, but I held firm and she settled for the dress and wig to be carefully draped on her guest bed in her room.

images (1)

(Above are “Tangled’s” Rapunzel and Mother Gothel)

Day two.  Lulu woke me up waaay early before she had to get ready for school, demanding to put on the dress and the wig.  I usually don’t let her play games or do activities before school, but since this was the first morning since she’d received her prized costume, I let her wear it if she promised to take it off nicely when I asked. And surprisingly she did.

DSCN1209

(Above is Lulu – aka Rapunzel – day two)

After school,  Lulu proclaimed she immediately must be “re-dressed like Rapunzel!”  I slid the dress on her easily.  Scotty even sewed on some purple ribbon in the back to cinch those loose shoulders up.  But the wig was a different story.

“Too loose!” Lulu screamed shaking her head side to side making the braid crown teeter.

“Fix it! NOW!” she ordered.

Even with a handful of bobby pins, I can’t make it perfect.

DSCN1219

(Above are the bobby pins and the wig. It’s not on Lulu’s head because she has run off crying and screaming)

You see, the braid is mounted on hard plastic in a wide circle.  It’s too big for a child and not flexible at all.  Normal bobby pins just can’t really reach from the braid to the intended wearer’s head to properly secure it.

So it kept jiggling.

And Lulu kept freaking.

“YOU’RE NOT NICE!

YOU HAFTA FIX IT!

I HAVE TO WEAR IT TO BE RAPUNZEL!!!

DSCN1220

(Above is Lulu furiously huddled on our steps in the dining room and yelling at me to “FIX IT AGAIN” after I said I think the wig should have a time-out)

A while back, I wrote an essay defending what is being batted about as the “Princess Effect” – here’s that essay, if you’re interested.  While some complain that it’s dangerous to encourage little girls to pretend to be little princesses, I was all for it.

I may still be, but now minus the |@#$%^!@ wig.

DSCN1212

Ciao, tutti!

P.S. please, oh, please – tell me parents – of that gift you were first so delighted to see little Junior get – only to completely wish it had never crossed your home’s threshold later..  I am misery and I need company!  😉

P.P.S for more stories of Lulu with plenty of her unique brand of tantrums and freakouts, US Preorder sales are NOW underway for my upcoming book, “Because I’m Small Now and You Love Me”! Click here to check it out!

 

