Tags

, , , , , , , ,

A Facebook friend messaged me today writing, “It is so fun listening to your Lulu say what kids say. Brings back memories of when my kids were small.”

She hit it right on the head.  I mean, of course, I love my daughter like a mad-woman and want the whole world to know it – so I post mostly about Lulu and the funny things she does and says.

Notice the name “Lulu” under her feet!

But when other parents add comments about their own kids’ adventures or sayings or general eccentricities, it’s even more tremendous. Because we all love our kids and marvel at the world through their eyes.  It’s no wonder our shared experiences of the adorable or crazy or even innocently brutal things they say and do  – ring true among us.

For those of you raising kids — There they are.  Right now. Reminding you what’s important: bugs, and candy, and giggling.  And what isn’t:  uptight business meetings, cell phone calls and texting, and stress.

And for those of you with children already grown–   You nostalgically remember the moments. When they hugged you in public with joyful abandon.  When the world was conquerable with a cardboard sword.  When a skinned knee instantly felt better with a kiss and some “magic dust.”

And for those of you who don’t have kids yet or don’t want them at all– You were once a child yourself.   Remember?

Of course you do.   That’s what connects us all.

P.S. I am so delighted that my book, Because I’m Small Now and You Love Me is in final edit.  I sincerely think it will be a connection. For all of us big kids.

Baci, tutti!

Gina

