Tags

, , , , , , ,

Yesterday, a dear friend of mine and her husband and godson were visiting Florence from the US.

I took Lulu out of school for the day and we rode the train up to meet them.  We joined their scheduled walking tour of Dante’s home and museum, the Duomo, the Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore, the Baptistry with its magnificent golden doors, and the iconic Palazzo Vecchio.

We tipped and toyed with the “living statues” that line the Uffizi Palace.

We strolled along the River Arno and I stood in the same spot near its banks holding Lulu for a photo where almost five years ago, Scotty had snapped a photo of me six months pregnant.

We lunched on pasta fatto a mano, or hand-made, in a lovely trattoria near the Ponte Vecchio.

During our lunch, my friend Robin’s husband Ken described this day as a “once in a lifetime experience.”

I agreed and it gave me pause.  Lulu and I (and Scotty too, but he had to work so he couldn’t join us) live just an hour away from Florence.  We are so fortunate for this time here in Italy.  Right now, every day is a once-in-a-lifetime experience.  I want to Carpe the heck out of each Diem and appreciate every day to the fullest.

And I want to make a pledge to try to do that no matter where I may be.  Italy, Florence, Arezzo, or somewhere back in America where we’re from.

Amen.

P.S.  While we’re living here in Italy, if you are ever coming to visit, let me know and I’ll try like “heck” to come and see you!  Thanks Robin and Ken and Caleb, for a great day!

Baci, Gina

