Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

One Thanksgiving Day, I asked everyone gathered around the table covered with turkey, wild rice stuffing, green bean casserole and both mashed and sweet potatoes, to say one thing they were thankful for.

Rockwell, Thanksgiving.jpg

“Awww, No.  C’mon.”

“This is cheesy.”

“Let’s just eat.”

Although I was met with immediate resistance, finally, reluctantly, my request was fulfilled and each person seated at the heaping table named one thing for which he or she was grateful.

But I wondered.

Why was giving thanks considered “cheesy?”

CheeseAssortment

Was it the call for public declaration? Is it perceived as too soft or weak?  Is it embarrassing to utter thankfulness? What?

I don’t know. Maybe it was a combination of those things.

But, don’t worry.  You won’t have to interrupt your Thanksgiving meal – or if you’re not American, you won’t have to interrupt any meal, because I won’t be making this table-side request again.

Gratitude is personal and something you can only freely give.

I am in no way a perfect person, and admit there are times when I am grouchy and not at all grateful.  But right now, during November – when the US sets aside a day to give thanks – I would like to list just a few of the things for which I am thankful.

  1. Family – My daughter Lulu and my husband Scotty are here with me and I get to enjoy them  every day.  The rest of my family I see only occasionally through visits, Skype or their words on cards and letters. They all mean so much to me.??????????
  2. Italy – This wonderful country has welcomed us with open arms and given us a seemingly unending stream of enriching experiences including food, culture, music, language, and red wine!???????????????????????????????
  3. Friends – Italian, expat American, British, Romanian or Czech. You know who you are and I love each and every one of you!

    My friends are not limited to the "squadra" but I love these girls a lot!

    My friends are not limited to the “squadra” but I love these girls a lot!

  4. Clients – A job I love and clients who grow and become friends is truly a rich reward.post-it
  5. Health –  If you have your health, you have everything.

    healthy and happy!

    healthy and happy!

That’s only my top five. The list goes on and on.  Every ancient door I see in Arezzo‘s medieval town center.

???????????????????????????????

Basilica San Francesco

A smile from a dog each time I pass by.

Before the smile..

Before the smile..

The sun on the duomo as I walk home in the afternoon.

??????????

In short: I am grateful for life!

And this month especially, I am not too shy or eager to dig in to the turkey (which is a few weeks away anyway), to let you all know!

With gratitude,

Gina

P.S. If it’s not too much trouble, tell me, what are you grateful for this Thanksgiving season?

Baci!

